An Activity Advent

I need to confess one of my geeky tendencies – advent calendars. I LOVE them. All of them. The kind that you use for one year or the type you keep forever. I love them with drawers, and doors, and pockets. I’m not sure why I’m so drawn to them but my son always has a way to countdown to Christmas.

In the past, each day has meant a Bible verse from one calendar and a piece of candy from another. This year, I’m going to try something new. Something inspired by Pinterest

An Activity Advent. The concept is simple; instead of receiving a piece of candy each day, we will do an activity. I figure Jordan will still get plenty of sugar during the season.

One of my advent calendars is shaped like a tree and has 24 numbered drawers.

 

 

(left)What the calendar looks like December 1st
(right)What it looks like December 25th

 

 

 

Each day, he will open the corresponding drawer and pull out a tag with an activity listed on it. My list of fun stuff is below. You’ll notice there are a couple of “cheat” days where he’ll get to grab a Christmas candy. I was trying to be realistic with what we could accomplish after work and school.

1 – Make A Christmas Chain
2 – Make Snowman Donettes to Eat Tomorrow
3 – Pick out and Decorate Christmas Tree
4 – Go shopping for a Needy Family
5 – Sign Christmas Cards
6 – Grab a Christmas Treat
7 – Make Ornament Magnets
8 – Make Tags for Christmas Presents
9 – Go look at Christmas Lights
10 – Wrap Presents
11 – Make Christmas Cookies
12 – Grab a Christmas Treat
13 – Write a Letter to Santa
14 – Grab a Christmas Treat
15 – Make Gingerbread Nativity
16 – Family Movie Night: A Christmas Story
17 – Grab a Christmas Treat
18 – Special Outing
19 – Make Indoor S’mores and Hot Chocolate
20 – Grab a Christmas Treat
21 – Make Reindeer Rootbeer to drink on Christmas Eve
22 – Make Christmas Cookies
23 – Visit Great-Grandparents
24 – Get Milk and Cookies ready for Santa

Day One’s Activity Tucked into it’s Drawer

It took me awhile to come up with all of these ideas but I think the end result will be well worth it. I mean, what a way to make memories! As a bonus, some of the things we would have done anyways. Now mommy has an organized schedule to keep her on track!

 

I’m also linking this post up to:

5 thoughts on “An Activity Advent

  1. This is such a great idea I am going to have to use this for the boys. What a great idea to include them in getting ready for christmas, helping yourself get organized, and spending family time which is what the holidays is all about. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Pingback: “Gingerbread” Buildings | Wives Unscripted

Leave a comment