Chocolate Malt Ball Cupcakes

imageSo this is an idea for a recipe that I had seen online various places. I kind of took from the internet and took from my own head, and I can’t say I was thrilled with the outcome. I was looking for something to taste like a Whopper, and these just didn’t. I used A LOT of malt powder in hopes that it would do the trick, but in the end they still tasted like a chocolate cupcake with chocolate frosting. Don’t get me wrong, there is NOTHING wrong with chocolate, but I just had hopes for a different flavor.

Cupcake Recipe:

I added about 1/2-3/4 cup of malt powder to my chocolate cake recipe.

Chocolate Malt Buttercream Frosting (adapted from thatwinsomegirl.blogspot.com)

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup vegetable shortening, at room temperature
  • ½ cup malted milk powder (I added close to one cup)
  • 4 tablespoons unsweetened dutch-process cocoa powder
  • 5 cups confectioner sugar, sifted
  • milk to get desired consistency (I usually use around 1/4 cup)

1. Mix butter and shortening until fluffy.

2. Add in malt powder and cocoa powder.

3. Gradually add in powdered sugar one cup at a time, alternating with milk, scraping down bowl when needed.

I don’t know what I could have done to get more of the malt flavor. I used almost the whole container of malt powder. Maybe it is my own fault for expecting a Whopper, but that is what I know of as malt flavor. Many people at work told me they loved these. I just didn’t get the flavor that I was hoping for. Do you have a suggestion as to how to get a more true malt flavor?

Leave a comment