Pink Champagne Cupcakes

When my cousin Megan got married 3 years ago, I acted as her wedding planner. It was a destination wedding in South Bend, Indiana at her alma mater, Notre Dame. We crammed all the meetings with vendors into one weekend a few months before the wedding. We all met up there at the end of February and trudged from meeting to meeting in the slush and snow but at the end of our first day we got our reward- the cake tasting. One of the flavors we had chosen to taste from the bakers menu was Pink Champagne. Megan and I were so intrigued by the idea of champagne in cupcakes and we were not disappointed.

Those flavors stayed with me for months and on her wedding day, I was so excited for that cake. I kept telling myself that I was going to come home and try to make it but it was not until last year that I finally did. I wish that I could give you some awesome homeade recipe that I came up with but after trying to create my own, the best one that I have found is Betty Crocker’s. It is so easy and they are so yummy. For a week, my house smelled like sugar and champagne, which is a great combination.

Pink Champagne Cupcakes (recipe from Betty Crocker)

Champagne Cupcakes

  • 1 box Betty Crocker® SuperMoist® white cake mix
  • 1 1/4 cups champagne
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 egg whites
  • 4to 5 drops red food color

Champagne Frosting

  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup champagne
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 to 5 drops red food color

Garnishes

  • Betty Crocker® pink decorating sugar
  • Edible pink pearls

Preparation:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F (325°F for dark or nonstick pan). Place paper baking cup in each of 24 regular-size muffin cups.
  2. 2 In large bowl, mix dry cake mix and champagne. Add oil, egg whites and food color. Beat with electric mixer on medium speed 2 minutes. Divide batter evenly among muffin cups.
  3. 3 Bake 17 to 22 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pan to cooling rack. Cool completely, about 30 minutes.
  4. 4 In medium bowl, beat frosting ingredients with electric mixer on medium speed until smooth. Frost cupcakes. Sprinkle with garnishes. Store loosely covered.

Pink Champagne (9)Pink Champagne (1)Pink Champagne (10) Pink Champagne (2) Pink Champagne (4) Pink Champagne (5)You can use any cheap champagne or sparkling wine that you want (and there will be leftover  to drink). This year I am taking it to the next level of decadence and making chocolate champagne cupcakes for Valentines. Wish me luck with that combination!

 

Leave a comment