Irish Cream Cupcakes

Photo Mar 17, 3 00 59 PMwatermarked

I know it is a couple days after St. Patrick’s Day, but Irish Cream tastes good all the time! I love a nice glass of Bailey’s over ice from time to time. When I saw Bailey’s creamer in the dairy section at the grocery store, I knew I had to try it out in a cupcake. This cupcake recipe gives you that Irish cream flavor without any of the alcohol, so they are pregnant woman friendly and kid friendly- score!

Cupcake Recipe:

I simply used Bailey’s creamer in place of the liquid in my go-to white cake recipe. Bake according to your recipe’s directions.

Irish Cream Buttercream recipe: (frosts about 16 cupcakes)

  • 1 stick butter or margarine
  • 1/2 cup Crisco
  • 1 pound powdered sugar
  • about 1/2 cup of Bailey’s creamer

Directions: 

  1. Combine butter and Crisco until light and fluffy.
  2. Gradually add powdered sugar alternating with the cream and scraping down bowl as necessary,
  3. Add in vanilla.
  4. Continue mixing at medium-high speed until fluffy. I think mixing longer gives the frosting a better texture.

The Irish Cream flavor of the cupcakes came out more as the cupcakes sat over night. It was not an overpowering taste, but it was definitely there. You could definitely make these with the real deal, but this way is safe for everyone to eat and also a little easier on the wallet. Slainte and enjoy!

Leave a comment